Web Cowgirl 衛 思 維 (webcowgirl) wrote,
Web Cowgirl 衛 思 維
webcowgirl

A good evening out and a quiet morning at home

shadowdaddy and I hustled our way down south after work, off to Tooting Broadway, home of the lovely trishpiglet and babysimon. After a visit at their place (where I was served a warm cup of tea while listening to the rain come down - so perfectly English, just not very English summer!), we strolled back to the main street and had a very filling dinner at a South Indian restaurant (Vijaya Krishna, I think).

Among many things, we had a chat about housing stuff, such as flat types (terrace house?), prices, how much of a down payment you need (zero percent? five percent?), how mortgages work over here, etc. Their neighborhood seems pretty decent and a hell of a lot more affordable than Putney. I think if I set my mind to it, I could have enough money to buy my way into a place here by this time next year. This process would be accelerated, of course, by moving out of THIS place and into, say, a one bedroom or otherwise cheaper property and maybe saving a little extra money by doing that. But our lease goes until October 15th, and, who knows, maybe it would all be too much trouble just for ten months.

At any rate, dinner was great and I find I'm still full this morning. I'm "working from home" until 11:15, when I'll walk up the street to the physiotherapist and work on my knee for a while. Then it'll be into work for a half day. I've got a couple of interesting projects I've been asked to do - coming up with plans for my employees for the next year (so whoever takes over knows where they're going) and working out a training program, with budget, benefits, and providers, for the larger group (this came out of my second meeting with The Demotivator yesterday), so I feel like my time can be well used, even if the most noticeable thing I did yesterday was buy some stuff off of Amazon. (That's not really true, as I went from "identify Employee Y's career goals" to "find him a programming mentor, who then met with him in half an hour to discuss what they're going to do, then watch him download Visual Studio" in about three hours yesterday, which was totally gratifying. I really can make a positive difference at times. I like that.)
Tags: food, london housing, work
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    Comments allowed for friends only

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 2 comments